×
Barclaycard Arena AppDOWNLOAD NOW
OPEN

Event Search

-
Newsletter
Hotline
Premium
Directions
Suites
Newsletter
Ticket-Hotline
040/80 60 20 80

 
Mo. - Fr.: 9am-6pm
Sa.: 10am-2pm

Premium Tickets

Make sure you get the best tickets for all events.

Buy now

Directions

All information about traveling by car, public transport and rail.

Directions & Parking

Suites

Book an exclusive suite for an event or a suite package.

Suite offers

No upcoming events

Ticket hotline

040/80 60 20 80

Mo. - Fr.: 9am - 6pm
Sa.: 10am - 2pm

ZZ Top

The guys from ZZ Top, with their striking beards, are among the musicians who already achieved legendary status during their lifetime. The three Texans hold the world record as the longest band playing together in the original line-up and have been official heroes of the American state of Texas since 1986, when a certain George W. Bush gave them the title. But three musicians, Billy Gibbons, Dusty Hill and Frank Beard, had a long way to go, starting for ZZ TOP in the early 70s.

 

Bandleader Gibbons already picked up the guitar at the age of 14 and gained experience with various combos. One of his first successful projects was the Moving Sidewalks. With the first single "99th Floor", written by Billy Gibbons, the Moving Sidewalks managed to break up local charts in Texas. More than local fame for Gibbons did not come out with these projects and so the later bandleader started Top in 1970 together with Hill and Beard ZZ. But even this connection didn't prove to be very successful in the beginning and their first two albums flopped. The turning point was the third studio album "Tres Hombres".  

 

This was followed by the albums Fandango, Tejas and Deguello, which consolidated the reputation of the three US-Americans as musicians with a powerful sound and carried them far beyond the borders of Texas. The ZZ TOP then ignited the afterburners with the 83'er album "Eliminator", which suddenly made ZZ Top known worldwide and on which they further developed their iconic sound. ZZ TOP gave up their reduced sound costume, but synthesizers and overdubs found their way into their songs during this phase. Not every fan of the Texans liked that, but it didn't stop their increasing fame and fame. 

 

In 1994 there was a return to the old blues sound of the early years with "Antenna". The 11th studio album was a tribute to the radio stations in Texas. Rougher than before and with much more groovy songs, the trio found their way back to the blues. Mega stage superstructures and dozens of naked girls had served their time. ZZ TOP reduced the music back to the essentials and that's probably what many ZZ top fans were waiting for, because the beards are as popular with the audience as ever.

×
Barclaycard Arena AppJETZT DOWNLOADEN
ÖFFNEN

Eventsuche - einfach schneller zum Ziel

-
Newsletter
Hotline
Premium
Anfahrt
Logen
Ticket-Hotline
040/80 60 20 80

 
Mo. - Fr.: 09-18 Uhr
Sa.: 10-14 Uhr

Premium Tickets

Sichern Sie sich schnell die besten Tickets für alle Events.

Jetzt kaufen

Anfahrt

Alle Infos zur Anreise mit PKW, Nahverkehr und Bahn.

Anfahrt & Parken

Logen

Erleben Sie Events in einem besonderen Ambiente.

Logenangebote

190617_ZZ_TopHomepage_380x235.jpg
ZZ Top
Montag, 17.06.2019
20:00 Uhr
Tickethotline

040/80 60 20 80

Mo. - Fr.: 09-18 Uhr
Sa.: 10-14 Uhr

ZZ Top

Die Jungs von ZZ Top gehören mit ihren markanten Bärten zu den Musikern, die sich schon zu Lebzeiten Legendenstatus erarbeiteten. Die drei Texaner halten den Weltrekord als am längsten in der Urbesetzung zusammen spielende Band und sind seit 1986, als ihnen ein gewisser George W. Bush den Titel verlieh, offiziell Helden des amerikanischen Bundesstaates Texas. Bis es so weit war, mussten drei Musiker, Billy Gibbons, Dusty Hill und Frank Beard, aber einen langen Weg zurücklegen, der für ZZ TOP in den frühen 70er Jahren seinen Anfang nahm.

 

Bandleader Gibbons griff bereits mit 14 Jahren zur Klampfe und sammelte mit diversen Combos Erfahrung. Zu einem seiner ersten erfolgreichen Projekte gehörten die Moving Sidewalks. Mit der ersten Single "99th Floor", die von Billy Gibbons geschrieben wurde, gelang es den Moving Sidewalks immerhin, lokale Charts in Texas aufzumischen. Mehr als lokale Bekanntheit sprang für Gibbons aber nicht mit diesen Projekten heraus und so hob der spätere Bandleader 1970 gemeinsam mit Hill und Beard ZZ Top aus der Taufe. Doch auch diese Verbindung erwies sich anfangs nicht als sonderlich erfolgreich und ihre ersten zwei Alben floppten. Der Wendepunkt war das dritte Studioalbum "Tres Hombres".  

 

Es folgten die Alben Fandango, Tejas und Deguello, die den Ruf der drei US-Amerikaner als Musiker mit kraftvollem Sound festigten und weit über die texanischen Landesgrenzen trugen. Den Nachbrenner zünden die ZZ TOP dann mit dem 83'er Album "Eliminator", das ZZ Top schlagartig weltweit bekannt machte und auf dem sie ihren ikonischen Sound noch einmal weiter entwickelten. Ihr reduziertes Klangkostüm gaben ZZ TOP auf, dafür hielten in dieser Phase Synthesizer und Overdubs Einzug in ihre Songs. Das gefiel nicht jedem Fan der Texaner, ihrer steigenden Bekanntheit und ihrem Ruhm tat das aber keinen Abbruch. 

 

Eine Rückkehr zum alten Blues-Sound der Anfangsjahre gab es 1994 mit "Antenna". Das dem 11. Studioalbum  war eine Hommage an die Radiostationen in Texas. Rauher als zuvor und mit erheblich groovigeren Songs ausgestattet, fand das Trio zurück zum Blues. Mega-Bühnenaufbauten und dutzendweise nackte Mädels hatten ausgedient. ZZ TOP reduzierte die Musik wieder auf das Wesentliche und das ist wahrscheinlich auch das, worauf viele ZZ Top-Fans warteten, denn beliebt sind die Rauschebärte beim Publikum wie eh und je.